SDSU’s Burdick Claims #SummitXC Men’s AOW Award

SDSU’s Burdick Claims #SummitXC Men’s AOW Award

ELMHURST, Ill. – South Dakota State's Kyle Burdick earned The Summit League's Men's Cross Country Athlete of the Week accolade for the second time this season following his performance during the Sept. 29-30 weekend.

Jr.  // Rapid City, S.D.

  • Garnered his second career Cross Country Athlete of the Week honor, both coming this season
  • Posted a winning time of 25:13.30 at the SDSU Classic, besting a field that included league rival North Dakota State and future league member North Dakota
  • Took over the No. 1 spot on league's season top times list with a personal-best effort
  • Helped lead Jackrabbits to first-place team finish at meet

Also nominated: Logan Kitchen, Fort Wayne; Tim Heikkila, North Dakota State; Lucas Lingle, Western Illinois

Previous recipients: Sept. 5 – Lukas Nelson, South Dakota State; Sept. 12 – Kyle Burdick, South Dakota State; Sept. 19 – Eldon Warner, South Dakota; Sept. 26 – Chase Cayo, South Dakota State

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of nearly 100,000 at eight institutions, including three located in top 60 U.S. metro populations and two land-grant universities. Member institutions include: Denver (University of Denver), Fort Wayne (Indiana University-Purdue University-Fort Wayne), North Dakota State University, Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), Oral Roberts University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University with the University of North Dakota becoming an official member on July 1, 2018. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced nine NCAA Champions along with over 90 Academic All-Americans, nearly 100 All-America selections and numerous former student-athletes competing at the highest professional level. For more information about the league, visit website, follow The Summit League on Twitter @thesummitleague.