ORU's Owens Named to DI-AAA Scholar-Athlete Team

ORU's Owens Named to DI-AAA Scholar-Athlete Team

TULSA, Okla. (oruathletics.com) – Oral Roberts senior men's basketball player Albert Owens has been named to the DI-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team, it was announced by the organization Wednesday. ORU has now had a member of the team for the third straight year as Owens earned the distinction for the second straight season.

In addition to being named the 2017-18 Summit League Sixth Man of the Year, Owens graduated in three years and was named the 2016-17 Most Outstanding History Major and the Overall Outstanding Student for the history, humanities government, international community development, liberal arts studies and social studies majors. He finished his collegiate basketball career third in ORU history with 159 blocked shots, and was the 2017-18 Summit League Sixth Man of the Year. He is one of just 16 players in ORU history to score at least 1,000 career points (1,318 points) and grab at least 500 rebounds (534 rebounds).

"On behalf of the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association, I would like to congratulate the recipients of the Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards as well as those who have earned a postgraduate scholarship," stated Tim Hall, current Division I-AAA ADA President and athletics director at the University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC). "Our association prides itself in honoring student-athletes who model success both in the classroom and in their sport. These recipients are proof that student-athletes have the ability to devote their time to their studies and still perform at the highest level of collegiate athletics."

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees was required to maintain a minimum grade point average of 3.20 - on a 4.00 scale - in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials. Nominated student-athletes must have participated in at least 50 percent (50%) of the team's games listed on the nomination form. To be eligible for nomination to the Scholar-Athlete Team, he/she must have reached junior academic standing at their institution (ineligible athletics transfers are NOT eligible).

"Once again, our association is excited to announce this year's men's and women's basketball Scholar-Athlete Teams and Awards recipients," stated Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team Selection Committee Chair and Athletics Director at Texas A&M University Corpus Christi, Scott Lazenby. "The quality of all of our nominees exceeded our expectations and made this year's decision process even more difficult than in years past. Congratulations to all of the honorees."

2017-18 Men's Scholar-Athlete Team

Evan Bailey

College of Charleston



Clayton Cluster

Loyola University Chicago



Rokas Gustys

Hofstra University


Rhetorical Studies

Albert Owens

Oral Roberts University



Josh Perkins

Gonzaga University


Sport Management

Ben Richardson

Loyola University Chicago



Joseph Sherburne



Financial Economics

Kareem South

Texas A&M-Corpus Christi


Biomedical Science

Kevin Vannatta

UNC Asheville



Reilly Walsh



Management Information Systems

Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Kevin Vannatta, UNC Asheville