#SummitMBB Trio Named Lou Henson All-Americans

#SummitMBB Trio Named Lou Henson All-Americans

Lou Henson Award Release 

BOSTON, Mass -- Three Summit League men's basketball junior standouts were named to the Lou Henson All-America Team it was announced Wednesday. The team, made up of the finalists for the Lou Henson Award, is presented annually to the nation's top Division I mid-major player.

Fort Wayne's John Konchar, South Dakota's Matt Mooney and South Dakota State's Mike Daum represented The Summit League on the squad.

Konchar concluded the 2017-18 campaign ninth in the nation in total steals (81) and 15th in assist/turnover ratio (2.91). He averaged 14.8 points, 8.1 rebounds and 4.8 assists per contest. He is only the third player since 1992-93 to finish a season with more than 450 points, 250 rebounds, 150 assists and 80 steals. Konchar picked up a Summit League Player of the Week award this year and was named to the All-Summit League First Team for a third straight season.

Mooney, a Wauconda, Ill., native led South Dakota with 18.7 points per game. He totaled 637 points on the season, the fourth-most in a single season in program history. He also tallied a career-best 105 assists over the season and swiped 67 steals. His 67 steals rank 24th in the nation while ranking 48th in all of Division I with 227 made field goals. He scored 30 or more points on five occasions this year, including a career-best 33 points at South Dakota State on Feb. 22. He also had 15 occasions where he scored at least 20 points in the 2017-18 season. Mooney completed his junior season by being named first team all-Summit League for the second-straight season and helped South Dakota achieve a 26-9 record, the most wins in the Division I era.

Daum, the two-time Summit League Player of the Year, has also recently been named honorable mention All-American by the Associated Press in addition to earning National Association of Basketball Coaches All-District 12 First Team and the United States Basketball Writers Association All-District VI Team honors and being named a finalist for the Karl Malone Award. The junior was one of three players nationally to average more than 20 points and 10 rebounds per contest, putting up 23.9 points and 10.3 rebounds each night to help the Jackrabbits to their third-straight NCAA Tournament and Summit League Tournament title. The Kimball, Nebraska native set a school record with 96 3-pointers, firing at a clip of 42.5 percent beyond the arc while going 194-for-228 at the charity stripe. He shot 46.2 percent from the field overall and totaled 836 points this season to help the Jackrabbits claim the program's first-ever outright regular season league title at the Division I level.

Lou Henson coached for 41 years and when he left the game in 2005 was sixth all-time in career Division I wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico State and is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two schools to the Final Four.

Through 35 years of Division I athletics, The Summit League features men's basketball teams from eight member institutions: Denver, Fort Wayne, North Dakota State, Omaha, Oral Roberts, South Dakota, South Dakota State and Western Illinois with North Dakota becoming an official member for the 2018-19 season. For more information about the league, "See The Summit" by visiting www.thesummitleague.org and following Summit League Basketball on Twitter @summithoops.