Summit League Releases Winter/Spring Distinguished Scholars List

Summit League Releases Winter/Spring Distinguished Scholars List

Complete Winter/Spring Distinguished Scholars List Release

ELMHURST, Ill. − Following the conclusion of the 2012-13 academic year, The Summit League announced its Academic Distinguished Scholars for the winter and spring seasons. A total of 515 Summit League student-athletes from baseball, men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s golf, softball, men’s and women’s swimming & diving, men’s and women’s tennis and men’s and women’s track & field were recognized as Distinguished Scholars.

In order to be named a Distinguished Scholar, a student-athlete must have at least a 3.60 grade-point average in the semester in which they compete and must use a year of eligibility.

South Dakota State led the way with a league-high 76 Distinguished Scholars just ahead of South Dakota with 71 recipients. Newcomer Omaha was next with 63 honorees followed by Western Illinois (56 recipients), Oakland (53 recipients) and North Dakota State (51 recipients). Fort Wayne and IUPUI were next as each institution had 49 honorees with Kansas City placing 34 on the list. Men’s and women’s swimming and diving associate member Eastern Illinois had 13 student-athletes earn Distinguished Scholar honors.

The complete list of the 2012-13 Summit League Winter/Spring Academic Distinguished Scholars can be found by clicking the link above. The full Summit League Academic Honor Roll will be released Friday. 

Entering its fourth decade of Division I athletics, The Summit League offers 19 championship sports and has a combined enrollment of over 144,000 at nine universities, four of which are located in top 58 U.S. metro populations (Detroit, Indianapolis, Kansas City and Omaha). Member institutions include: Fort Wayne (Indiana-Purdue-Fort Wayne), IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis), Kansas City (University of Missouri-Kansas City), Omaha (University of Nebraska Omaha), North Dakota State University, Oakland University, the University of South Dakota, South Dakota State University and Western Illinois University. Previously known as the Mid-Continent Conference, The Summit League rebranded in 2007 and has since produced 54 All-Americans, 37 Academic All-America selections and seven NCAA Championships. For more information about the league and its history, visit to “See The Summit” or follow on Twitter @thesummitleague.