Western Illinois earns first Summit League Sportsmanship Award

Western Illinois wins first-ever Summit League Sportsmanship Award.
Western Illinois wins first-ever Summit League Sportsmanship Award.

Sportsmanship Award Release | Past Sportsmanship Award Releases

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. –For the first time in league history, Western Illinois has been selected by its fellow institutions with the 2018-19 Summit League Sportsmanship Award.

The Summit League Sportsmanship Award is given annually to the institution that is judged by its peers to be the best in the league in living up to the ideals of sportsmanship. Areas for evaluation Include student-athlete conduct, staff/administrator conduct, coaches' conduct and event management.

Southern Utah continues to own the league record with five Sportsmanship Awards, followed by Centenary and South Dakota with three apiece. Purdue Fort Wayne, Omaha and South Dakota State each earned a pair of awards while IUPUI, Kansas City and Valparaiso have each earned the honor once.

Sportsmanship Award History
1998-99 – Kansas City
1999-2000 – Southern Utah
2000-01 – IUPUI
2001-02 – Valparaiso
2002-03 – Southern Utah
2003-04 – Southern Utah
2004-05 – Southern Utah
2005-06 – Southern Utah
2006-07 – Centenary
2007-08 – Centenary
2008-09 – South Dakota State
2009-10 – Centenary
2010-11 – South Dakota State
2011-12 – Fort Wayne
2012-13 – Omaha
2013-14 – Omaha
2014-15 – Fort Wayne
2015-16 – South Dakota
2016-17 – South Dakota
2017-18 – South Dakota
2018-19 – Western Illinois

Follow The Summit League
SOCIAL: Twitter | Facebook | Instagram

2018-19 Basketball Media Day
October 19, 2018 2018-19 Basketball Media Day